Skip to content

Now, The Time is Now

January 28, 2015

When I was a kid, I was Batman. I would walk around the house with my knitted blanket tied around my neck, talking in a deep voice, and then go into our unfinished basement and battle The Joker, or The Riddler until I was called away to eat lunch or dinner. I loved Batman so much that I was able to convince myself that, without a doubt, I was Batman.

Obviously, I wasn’t really Batman, and as convinced as I was, I knew beneath the service I was just a kid with a blanket tied around his neck. But why would I ever admit that, even to myself? The deeper I got into character, the more fun I had – the more the basement looked like the bat-cave, and my imaginary villains were real talking people, the longer the game seemed to last.

The more I was in the moment.

I think this is the goal of being human. To be fully in the moment.

Because now is eternal.

Think about it. The time is always now.

You can see it my face, I AM a soldier.

You can see it my face, I AM a soldier. There is no past or future in this moment. No worry, no nothing but this eternal moment.

When you’re a kid, time moves slower. You can probably fit ten of last years between my fourth and fifth birthdays.

I have been struggling recently with being in the moment. I always seem to be somewhere else. You can look at me, straight in the face and have a full conversation with me, but I am in and out much of the time. My mind skips around, from singing a song in my head, to worrying about how there got to be – $4 in my bank account, to something that was said to me earlier that day, or something that could happen later on.

I have been like this for years, and as time has moved forward, the worse it has gotten. I have ended relationships because I wasn’t sure they would last long anyway instead of just letting things take their course and enjoying the moment.

This weekend, I had a nervous breakdown.

All this worry and pressure and anxiety caught up to me.

I am very glad this happened, because I gained a new perspective. I have been running from the moment, in fear that it would end. Turns out, by running from it, I was ending it. I was killing it. I was killing myself.

I wonder, what would life be without death?

It would be boring.

There would be nothing to fear. There would be no reason to move, no motivation to do good, and no motivation to do bad. No reason to choose. There would be no reason to dance and celebrate. There would be no reason for Batman.

There is no high without a low. You cannot run from pain, because all you are doing is covering over it. It’s remains present either way.

When Jesus was asked who he was, he said, I AM. I believe he was talking about eternity. He came to earth to show us how to live, but he never gave straight answers. He kept things grey. By saying, I Am, he was saying, that he was fully in the moment – no past, no future. He was in eternity. Maybe that’s what he meant by saying, “The Kingdom of God is within you.”

2 Peter 3:8 reads, “But do not overlook this one fact, beloved, that with the Lord one day is a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day.”

Think about when you are doing something you love. Time disappears.

My band-mates and I talked briefly about this last night. When we’re in the practice room, running through our set, or on the stage performing our set, all concept of time vanishes.

Therefore, do not get distracted.

1 Peter 5:8 says, “Be sober minded; be watchful. Your adversary, the devil prowls around like a roaring lion, seeking someone to devour.”

There are smoke-screens all around us, designed to distract us and take us away from the moment. I think 1 Peter 5:8 is referring to this. All those advertisements that make you long to have a better image, body weight, etc. all those snacks that only release a craving for more; all those portrayals of celebrities living fabulous lives, reminding us of what we don’t have.

It all breeds discontentment.

All those “false prophets” the Bible speaks about, who only affirm what you already believe – they limit your vision and enable you to believe that the world-view you have developed is the all-encompassing truth. If you believe you have it all figured out, you are living in the past. You are not (so to speak). When you are not in the moment, you are in a sense motionless, dead.

But, it is okay to doubt. It is okay, to wonder, to question, to struggle. These things mean that you are in the moment. These are signs of life.

You are aware of your surroundings.

You are moving.

You are alive.

And the devil that deceived them was cast into the lake of fire and brimstone, where the beast and false prophets are, and shall be tormented day and night for ever and ever.

– Revelation 20:10

Myths, fairy tales, stories – they are not based around facts. They are based upon wonder and curiosity. They do not need to be factually true to be true. That’s what makes them thrive. Who knows if Jesus spoke all the words that are portrayed in the Bible? Who knows if he did all those things. Does it really matter though? If he would’ve wanted everything to be accurate and factual, don’t you think he would have written these things down himself?

I sometimes wonder if the devil is the personification of evil…

I sometimes wonder if God is the personification of good…

Does it really matter?

Embrace your imperfections…

Lose your sense of time…

Accept grace…

Accept love…

Be…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 28, 2015 10:08 pm

    I love framing “now” as eternity, because now does go on forever…or at least until we die (whatever that means). I had a conversation this week about enjoying where we are. We rush to get from here to there, focusing a lot of energy on the beginning and the end. I know a kid who was a super hero out saving the world and he didn’t really think about where he started or where he was going to end up. I think you’ve helped me realize that what draws us inis a vision, not any single goal. What do you think?

    • January 29, 2015 3:44 pm

      I like that. A single goal can limit you rather help you progress. A vision can guide you to places you didnt realize were there. It helps you look closer to your surroundings. Plus it can incorporate smaller goals, like benchmarks

Leave a Reply

