Skip to content

The Century Mark

May 1, 2013

I started this blog a little over two years, one hundred blog posts ago. That’s weird.

I’m not sure why I even started this blog at that time. It probably had something to do with a breakup I had – a sort of journal for the public to see, but I had no idea what it would lead to when I did it – that it evolve and get me here.

I was twenty-one years old then. Now I’m twenty three and I can proudly say if someone told twenty-one year old me I’d be where I’m at in life, doing what I’m doing, I would have been both ecstatic and confused.

Since then, I’ve come a long way and this blog has been a big reason why. It’s given me an outlet to share my thoughts; it’s taught me I do actually have a voice; it’s helped me stay connected with some people from back home; and it’s probably annoyed many of my Facebook friends with its daily updates.

So, this is a post to celebrate the twists and turns of life.

I have no reason to be anything other than joyful. I’m very proud to say I’ve been following my dreams despite having to go against my natural intuition most the time to do so. And now they seem to be on the road to be coming true, though it’s still early on.

If I ever need a boost of confidence, it’s nice to know I can look back at at twenty-one year old me, or eighteen year old me and see the progress I’ve made.

When I wrote my first song during my senior year in high school, it seemed like such a silly thing to do. I’m happy to know it still feels that way and hopefully always does. Here are the lyrics to that song. I had no idea what they meant at the time, but I knew I needed to hear them said.

Feather Up

forget the message you were taught
forget all that you forgot
when memory truly fades all that fades away is what you once thought

feather up sing like a bird forget the point
it’s just a point

live life and love the ones you hate
live life and sell all that you make
who said we are all we have
i know we have more than what you were told

feather up sing like a bird forget the point
it’s just a point

i know what you know and that’s not much
you know that i know we’re out of luck
we’ll never have it figured out
until the day we leave ourselves

feather up sing like a bird forget the point
there is no point(repeat)

Youngster.

Here’s the young pup who wrote those lyrics.

Here’s to the process.

Signing off,

Grace and Love.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

