Skip to content

Friendship.

November 21, 2011

I was lying in bed last night, waiting to fall asleep when suddenly I had several epiphanies.

So, I turned the light back on, grabbed my computer and wrote some stuff down.

This is one of the statements I found this morning in a word document:

“Friendship is found in the desire to be a part of someone’s story and the the desire for him or her to be a part of yours.”

Friendship is one of the greatest blessings we have on this earth. It offers accountability, support, encouragement, laughter, and among other things, meaning.

Look at every great story and there is some sort of great friendship.

Similarly, even though I cannot speak from direct experience, I think that every great marriage starts with great friendship. You have to be friends with your spouse in order to maintain you love for your spouse.

Are your friends contributing positively to your story?

Are you contributing positively to your friend’s stories?

I asked myself these questions today and I found some answers that I didn’t like and some answers that I did.

From now on I am going to approach friendships and dating with this mindset. I will ask myself daily, “How can I add to [insert friend’s name here] story?” How can I be the best supporting character I possibly can for him or her? How can I help them achieve their life goals, conquer their evil, their dragons?”

I have been extremely blessed to have had the opportunity to surround myself with amazing friends. Friends who make me better, who inspire me, and who push my good conquering evil ability.  The current supporting characters in my story are the best supporting characters I could ask for. I hope that I can somehow be the same for them. And I will try my hardest to do so.

I think that by using this mindset and asking ourselves these questions, we will become better, closer, more unselfish friends.

And I am going to apply this philosophy to the girl I marry as well. When dating whoever I end up dating in the future, I will ask myself if I want to be a part of her story, and if she would enhance my story as much as possible, if she would be that support that would push me at my darkest and hardest points in my story and if I am equipped to do the same for her. Then I will know if she is who I want to spend my life with. Then I will know if she can be my closest friend, and I hers.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

