Skip to content

No vember.

October 31, 2011

Tomorrow begins my second annual No vember. You’ve probably heard of No-Shave-November (no shaving for the month of November. I know, pretty self-explanatory.) before, which is how No vember started for me.

Last year, I was frustrated with Facebook toward the end of October, so I decided to fast from Facebook for November. Then I decided to fast from Xbox. And then beer. And the list just kept on growing. I don’t remember what all it entailed last year, but I do remember that it was probably the most refreshing month of my life.

So, this year, I’m embarking on my second annual No vember and it couldn’t come at a better time. I have struggled all semester with distractions, self-discipline, time management, etc. And that is why I am doing this.

Because I think fasting is a healthy practice. And that doesn’t only include food fasting, which I’m thinking of doing tomorrow to kick the month off.

So, starting tomorrow I will go without the following for 1 month:

No shaving. Because it’s how this thing got started and because of the tradition.

No texting. Because I do not enjoy texting and the distraction it brings forth.

No Facebook. Same as above.

No Twitter. Because of the distraction.

No more than one beer per day and no alcohol otherwise. Because, though I tend to be responsible with my drinking for the most part, it’ll be good to spend a few Friday and Saturday nights writing or listening to music or something a bit quieter than the typical weekend night.

No TV shows, football, or movies. I will make an exception with movies if it is part of a social gathering. This will allow me to spend time that I normally would on these, on reading, writing, doing homework, or something else more productive.

No fantasy football aside from once per week. (This is the one I am most worried about. My addiction to fantasy football is like a baby’s addiction to crying. It’s loud, high-pitched, and disrupts church services. Okay, not true on the last one. To date.

No eating out. I have had near as much success as I would have liked in managing my money. This is a large portion of it.

 

Also, this year I added a few “To do’s” to my “To don’t” list:

 

Read outside of class for a half hour per day.

Write outside of class for a half hour per day.

Have a close listening to an album one to two times per week.

Write one song per week. (Even if the song sucks and I don’t end up doing anything with it, it is good practice and well worth my time)

Learn a new guitar chord per week.

 

With that said, I am going to go do everything on the (no portions of the) list while I still can…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

