Skip to content

Teaser.

April 13, 2011

Below is the first page of my newest short story. I have used it for two different workshops for my creative writing class and have revised it four times. I’m pretty pleased with the results so far and I hand in a final copy of it on Thursday. So here is a teaser.

 

Another Moment of Early Morning Silence (Page 1)

I feel a breeze blow through the thin cabin wall next to my makeshift bed. I don’t have any real blankets, just a cover made from a few old shirts and underwear. The fall, Alaska air is cold and bitter. But in a strange way it is welcoming. I’ve spent nearly four months out here, surviving through the help of my two older brothers, Mason and Jeremy. It’s been tough, but I’m getting used to the cold and the hunger. In a strange way, I’m beginning to think that it’s a healthy way to live. If we never leave, I think I can somehow be okay with that.

There’s a squeaking of the floorboard in the doorway. It’s Anne. She usually crawls in bed with me in the middle of the night. I say hi with a smile. She says nothing but smiles back. I tell her that I’m glad she found us and that I don’t know how I would make it through the cold nights without her. She gives another smile of contentment and grabs my arm, putting it over shoulder. Her body is not much warmer than the surrounding air; she’s always been rather cold blooded. Her emotional warmth, however, cannot be overstated. It’s like a heavy quilt has been laid over my brain. Without her here, I doubt if I would be able to live with this situation; whatever it even is. I remember the beginning. I was excited, but scared. I guess those emotions have somehow upheld the Alaskan outdoor filter.

 

“Where are we,” Jeremy asked as we drove into Fairbanks, Alaska. “I thought you said this place was around Anchorage.

“Well, that was the plan originally,” Mason said. “But I found another place that is going to be much better.”

“Great,” Jeremy muttered. “Nice of you to let us know.”

To be continued…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

